Month: September 2021

Results Ivan McCauley Agri Sales Open Stableford

Andy Little was the winner of the Ivan McCauley Open Stableford competition at Clogher Valley with 43 points. It was good to see Andy back in the winner’s circle for the first time this season. A steady round of 7 pars, 9 bogeys and 1 double bogey was good enough to take the win by 1 point. The only blemish on his card came at the 13th where he failed to score.

In second place, on 42 points, was Dylan Aiken who is showing some very consistent form of late. With 8 pars, 8 bogeys, 1 double bogey and no score on the 14th almost a mirror image of Andy’s card. In 3rd place was Christopher McMulkin on 40 points on count back from Stan Montgomery. Christopher has made a steady improvement throughout the season, picking up quite a few prizes along the way. Stan had a very consistent 40 shots on each nine, scoring points on every hole.

Ian Farrell won the front 9 with a mind blowing 26 points. What happened on the back 9 Ian?? Niall Bracken took the back nine on 21 points.

In the Ladies Section Gillian Chartres won on 31 points from visitor Anne Cullen from Omagh. The highlight of her round being a birdie 2 on the 3rd .

Thanks again to Ivan McCauley Agri for their continued support.

First time winner William wins the Credit Union Stroke Play

William Mayne won his first competition at Clogher Valley last weekend when he lifted the Credit Union Open with a 54 nett. He had 2 shots to spare over another first time prize winner Niall McCusker.
Maurice Coulter took 3 rd place on 57 which included birdies at the 14th and 16th. Darren Granleese won the Gross with a 75.
Paul Armstrong continued his recent good form by winning the Front 9 with young Dylan Aiken taking the Back 9.
In the Ladies section, Linda Armstrong won with a nett 71 from Gillian Chartres in 2nd on 74 and Hazel McDonald in 3rd with 75.
We would like to thank Clogher Valley Credit Union for their continued support.

Gents Results

1 st William Mayne
2 nd Niall McCusker
3 rd Maurice Coulter
Gross Darren Granleese
Front 9 Paul Armstrong
Back 9 Dylan Aiken

Ladies section

1 st Linda Armstrong
2 nd Gillian Chartres
3 rd Hazel McDonald

Members please note that 2 competitions, which were postponed earlier in the season, will now be played. Edfield Restaurant will be played on weekend beginning 24th September and Valley Commercials on weekend beginning 1st October.

This means that Captain vs President will now take place on Sunday 10th October.

We would encourage all members to continue showing their support for our sponsors by entering these competitions.

Norman lifts the President’s Prize with a superb 46 points

Mervyn McElwaine held his President’s Day at Clogher Valley at the weekend. Almost 80 players took to the immaculately prepared fairways to do battle.
Out early on Friday was club stalwart Norman Lyons with his playing partners Norman Kerr and Billy O’Malley. He was to return with a superb 46 points which included 7 pars and 2 birdies. This was a score that could not be surpassed by any of the over 70 players that followed him. With flags in tricky positions on the greens putting would prove to be key to building a score. Norman claimed he can’t remember the last time he putted so well. His playing partner, Norman Kerr, hit 42 points to lift the Past President’s Prize proving there is life in the old dog yet!
President Mervyn’s guests gathered at lunchtime on Saturday for refreshments before play. It was two of these guests who came 2nd and 3rd with Charlie Keys taking 2nd from Kevin McGarry on countback with 43 points. The very reliable Harry Carson won the Gross with a 3 over of 70. The Front 9 was won by John Wallace and Back 9 by William Crawford.
In the Ladies section, Linda Armstrong on 37 points had 1 point to spare over Carmel Rooney with Gillian Chartres taking 3rd with 34 points.
Later, after a beautiful meal provided by Nadine, Noel and the staff, President Mervyn presented a great array of prizes to the winners. A great nights craic was enjoyed by Mervyns’ family and friends.
Full results – Mens section
1. Norman Lyons
2. Charlie Keys
3. Kevin McGarry
Gross: Harry Carson
Past Presidents prize: Norman Kerr
Visitors’ prize: Nigel Trotter
Non Handicap: Ian Hood
Front 9: John Wallace
Back 9: Willie Crawford
Nearest the pin: Brian Armstrong
Ladies Section
1. Linda Armstrong
2. Carmel Rooney
3. Gillian Chartres



Prize Giving Evening | August 2021

Our monthly Prize Giving took place on Friday, 27 August in the Clubhouse. There were superb prizes awarded for each competition, thanks to the ongoing generosity of our Competition Sponsors:-




We are hugely appreciative of the support our Club receives from local businesses and we would remind members, when possible, to please support them in turn.



Captain’s Day Prize Winners

Captain Eugene Rooney finally got his Captain’s Day played at Clogher Valley despite having to close the course, again, on the Saturday afternoon due to the wet weather. Players then returned on Sunday to complete their rounds.
Stan Montgomery was the early leader on Friday with 44 points, with a birdy at the difficult 4th being the highlight of his round. He was passed early on Saturday morning by Martin Ferguson playing off 19. Martin played the front 9 in 2 over 36 with a birdy at the 8th. His back 9 was covered in 5 over 38 with the only blemish coming at the 18 th with a double bogey 6.
That score looked unbeatable until big hitting 17 handicap Paul Armstrong went out on Sunday. Paul shot an excellent 5 over 72 which included birdies at the 2nd and 3rd . The key to his win was keeping double bogeys off his card. A great round by any standards.
Low handicap Harry Carson took the Gross prize with the Front 9 being won by Treasurer Pat Callaghan with 23 points and Back 9 being won by young Dylan Aiken with 25 points.
Raymond Farrell took the Past Captain’s prize with 38 points.
In the Ladies section, which was played 2 weeks earlier, Barbara Kingston won with a superb 40 points from Hazel McDonald in 2nd and Bernie Mohan in 3rd place. Well done Ladies.
Full Results:
1st: Paul Armstrong, 48 points
2nd: Martin Ferguson, 47 points
3 rd Stan Montgomery, 44 points
Gross: Harry Carson
Front 9: Pat Callaghan
Back 9: Dylan Aiken
Past Captain’s Prize: Raymond Farrell
Ladies Section:
1st: Barbara Kingston, 40 points
2nd: Hazel McDonald, 37 points
3rd: Bernie Mohan, 35 points
Scroll to top